top of page

Hi

Hi, hello.


This first post will be an introduction to who I am and what this blog will entail.

So, firstly, who am I?


My name is Savannah Crosby and I am a walking photographer – who dabbles in videography.


A quick about me.


Like I mentioned above, I’m Savannah and I class myself as a walking photographer. You might be asking yourself “What is a walking photographer?” and for me that just means I make work based around walking, exploring themes such as mental health and the natural environment, hoping to create a sense of place and escapism with the use of metaphors and symbolism.


I’m currently based in Dumfries and Galloway, South West Scotland and this is where I make the majority of my work. Photography first started off as a hobby, however in 2016, I decided to enroll into college and gain some skills and knowledge about the photography world. As well as my HNC and HND photography certificates, I have two degrees, a BA(Hons) in Photography from the University of Cumbria and a Master of Arts in Creative Media Practice from the University of the West of Scotland. Since graduating in 2021, I have been trying to get my name out into the world by participating in a number of projects.


I’d lie and say that this is my first attempt at blogging, but it is not. I once started a blog about eight years ago and posted about twelve times in four years… I’m just not very good at it :D. I also had to make a blog as part of a university assessment but that was looking at one specific project over a number of posts, and not something I want to continue. So, I wanted to start afresh.


What is the purpose of this blog?


Well, I want to start a sort of photography journal – a place where I can brainstorm ideas and keep track of project development. Like my work, this blog will be real and honest – I want people to be able to understand my thought process and my work as well as to get to know me and I decided that this would be a great way to do it.


I also plan on having written pieces about previous projects. Again, this is something I have wanted to do for a while, but I didn’t know the best way to do and decided that I should incorporate that here too. As well as written pieces about individual projects, I want to talk about the project opportunities that I have been fortunate to be a part of that have helped me create some of those final projects.


I plan for my next post to be about the most recent project I was a part of – ROAM (West) and what being a part of a collaborative group, looking at rural contemporary art was like.


Bye for now.


~ SC


 

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page